Ceci n'est pas un Monastère
Former monastery and member of ”Bienvenue au Château”s exclusive collection of B&B’s in castles, abbey and other unique places around in France.
The history behind the buidling of Monastère de Brucourt dates to the early 20th century. A wealthy couple and collectors, heirs to an industrial family from northern France, Louis Serbat (1875-1953) and his wife born Madeleine de Vaufreland, had it built between 1912 and 1920. When they retired and moved to their castle Château de Laàs, they bequeqthed the manor to the Benedicte monks. They in their turn offered it to the Order of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary in 1975. The nuns, heirs to St Jeanne of France, daughter of Louis XI and founder of the order of the Blessed Virgin Mary (also known as the Order of the Annunciation) in Bourges in 1500, decideafter 40 years to build and settle in a new and bigger monastery in Caen-Grentheville. The Monastère de Brucourt was bought by a French family in 2015 and after several months of renovation 5 elegant suites are rented out as B&B.